Washington Hit and Run Attorney
Have you been charged with Hit and Run? Contact us today!
In Washington, drivers of any vehicle have a specific duty to remain at an accident site. If a driver flees the scene of an accident, whether they are scared, have a flight response, or were not sure what they should do, they can face serious penalties. Do not face this charge alone. Let Weber Law help you today!
call or text now!
Washington Hit and Run Charges and Penalties
What is a Hit and Run?
There are different aspects to the crime of hit and run.
A driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in the injury to or death of any person or involving the body of a deceased person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the accident as possible.
If you are in such an accident, you must provide your name, address, insurance company, insurance policy number, vehicle license number, and driver’s license. If reasonable, you must try to render aid to the injured person, which could include calling for an ambulance, or carrying the person to safety. Additionally, you must report the accident if there are no police officers on the scene.
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in only damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person or damage to another’s property must move the vehicle off the roadway as soon as possible and remain on the scene.
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident with an unattended vehicle or property must take reasonable steps to locate and notify the owner of the accident. If you cannot locate the owner, you must leave written notice, giving your name, address, and information for the owner to get in touch with you or your insurance company.
What is the Punishment?
If you are found guilty of failing to stop and comply with the requirements after an accident, and that accident caused the death of someone, it is a class B felony.
If you are found guilty of failing to stop and comply with the requirements after an accident, and that accident caused injury to another person, it is a class C felony.
If you are found guilty of failing to stop and comply with the requirements after an accident, and that accident involved striking the body of a deceased person, it is a gross misdemeanor.
If you are found guilty of failing to stop and comply with the requirements after an accident, and that accident involved property damage of another when someone was present, it is a gross misdemeanor.
If you are found guilty of failing to stop and comply with the requirements after an accident, and the accident involved an unattended vehicle or property, it is a misdemeanor.
A class B felony is punishable by imprisonment for up to ten years, a fine of up to $20,000.00, or both.
A class C felony is punishable by imprisonment for up to five years, a fine of up to $10,000.00, or both.
A gross misdemeanor is punishable by imprisonment for up to 364 days, or a fine of up to $5,000.00, or both.
A misdemeanor is punishable by imprisonment for up to ninety days, or a fine of up to $1,000.00, or both.
Additionally, upon conviction of failure to maintain at the scene of an accident, your driver’s license may be revoked or suspended.
As the penalty can range so widely, it is important to have a knowledgeable attorney who will advocate for the lowest sentence possible for you.
Even as a Defendant of a Crime, you still have Rights! Make sure yours were not violated!
Even as an individual facing criminal charges, you have rights. It is important to know those rights and make sure that they were not violated in any way when you were arrested or charged. Without extensive knowledge of your rights when it comes to police searches, Miranda rights, and your rights when it comes to arrest, it is extremely difficult to get a dismissal or reduction of your charges. Do not try and fight these charges on your own, Weber Law is ready to help you today.
Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been arrested on a hit and run charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation – serving Seattle and the surrounding areas.
How can you fight it?
If you have been cited for a hit and run in Washington, there are a few ways Weber Law can fight for you. Whether it is negotiating to lower the charge to a lesser crime, reducing your fine amount, reducing jail time, making sure your license does not get suspended, or defending you at trial, Weber Law will work for you. Weber Law will make sure to look at all the details of your case by looking at potential evidence such as traffic cameras, officer reports, and potential eyewitness testimony. At Weber Law, we are experienced in defending these charges, winning these cases and getting you back on the road. If you or anyone you know has been cited for a hit and run in the State of Washington, call Weber Law today for a consultation.
WA ST § 46.52.020, Duty in case of personal injury or death or damage to attended vehicle or other property – Penalties
WA ST § 9A.20.021, Maximum sentences for crimes committed July 1, 1984, and after
WA ST § 46.52.010, Duty on striking unattended car or other properties.
A Seattle, Washington Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
810 3rd Avenue Suite 120, Seattle, WA 98104