Utah Furnishing to Minor Attorney
Facing Furnishing To A Minor charges in Utah? Time is NOT on your side.
If you are under investigation, if law enforcement wants to speak with you, or if you have been charged with a criminal offense, a competent, experienced criminal defense attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your charges. Call Weber Law to discuss your circumstances. Weber Law has helped people facing assault crimes navigate their way to case resolution and reunification with family members.
Having guidance through and an understanding of the criminal process will alleviate stress and allow you to focus your attention on improving your life.
call or text now!
Furnishing to a Minor Crimes Defense
In Utah, it is against the law to sell or give alcohol to people who are under the age of twenty-one. You could be at risk for jail time, a hefty fine, a record that follows you for life, and even losing your liquor license as a business owner. Having any sort of blemish on your record is never good, it can show up later in life when you least expect it, like when you are applying for a job, or applying to adopt a child. Do not leave this offense to chance, let Weber Law help you today!
What is the Statute?
Under Utah Code § 32B-4-403, a person may not sell, offer to sell, or furnish an alcoholic product to a minor. The definition of a minor is someone who is under the age of twenty one.
What is the Penalty?
Furnishing alcohol to minors in the state of Utah is a class B misdemeanor if the person negligently provides the alcohol, or fails to determine whether the recipient of the alcoholic product is a minor. A class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Furnishing alcohol to minors is a class A misdemeanor if the person knows the recipient of the alcoholic product is a minor. A class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to one-year imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
If a merchant is convicted of selling alcohol to minors, they could risk losing their job, or their liquor license. It is the merchant’s duty to make sure the person they are selling alcohol to, is over the age of twenty one. If they suspect the person is not over the age of twenty one, and the identity card that is given is expected to be counterfeit, the person must not sell the alcohol.
Charges that are related to supplying or selling alcohol to a minor or can even be coupled with the charge include but are not limited to:
- Contributing to the delinquency of a minor
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Unlawful acts with a false ID
How Can You Fight It?
If you have been cited with supplying or selling alcohol to minors in the state of Utah, there are a few ways Weber Law can fight for you. Whether it is negotiating to lower the charge to a lesser crime, reducing your fine amount, making sure the charge doesn’t go on your record, or defending you at trial, Weber Law will work for you every step of the way. By using defenses that have been successful in the past, for example, being supplied a false ID by the minor, not realizing the merchandise you were selling had alcohol in it, or being coerced into supplying the alcohol, Weber Law will create a strong defense for you. At Weber Law we are experienced in defending these charges, winning these cases, and getting you back to everyday life. These are serious charges, and any blemish on your record can have detrimental effects, do not face these charges alone. The court room can be a very intimidating place, let Weber Law take the stress and worry from you. If you or anyone you know has been cited with supplying or selling alcohol to minors in the state of Utah, call Weber Law today for a consultation.
- Utah Code § 32B-4-403, Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to a minor
- Utah Code § 76-3-204, misdemeanor conviction – term of imprisonment
- Utah Code § 76-3-301, fines of individuals
- Utah Code § 76-10-2301, contributing to the delinquency of a minor
- Utah Code § 32-4-409, Unlawful purchase, possession, consumption by minor – measurable amounts in body
Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been charged with furnishing to a minor. We offer a free confidential case evaluation. Serving Salt Lake City and the surrounding areas.
Our Furnishing to a Minor Defense Lawyers Are Here to Help
If you have been charged with a crime, do not hesitate to ask for legal help. At Weber Law Firm, we understand you’re scared and nervous about what is coming next. You may even be angry that you have been falsely accused of a crime you didn’t commit. We are here to fight for an acquittal.
To learn more about how we can help, contact Weber Law Firm online or call us at 8014414010 today.
A Salt Lake City, Utah Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
11629 S 700 E, Suite 160 Draper, UT 84020