Colorado Theft Crimes Lawyer
Facing Theft Crimes charges in Colorado? Time is NOT on your side.
When you or someone you care about is accused of theft, the consequences can be devastating. People forget that you’re innocent until proven guilty, and may immediately stop trusting you. If you do wind up with a guilty conviction, the consequences can be exponentially worse. You may face time in jail or prison. You’ll likely have to pay fines and restitution. And, once the nightmare is over, you may never again be eligible to work in a position that requires bonding or that involves money handling or finance. That’s why you need Weber Law. We understand the implications of theft crimes charges and will mount an aggressive legal defense to have the charges dropped or reduced.
Types of Colorado Theft Crimes Charges
Theft charges in Colorado are broken into three basic categories: felony theft, misdemeanor theft, and petty theft. Felony theft, also referred to as felony larceny, occurs when someone intentionally steals the property of another worth at least $2,000. However, theft is always a felony if the victim is considered “at risk.” This includes elderly or disabled persons regardless of the property value. “Pick-pocketing” is another exception to the $2,000 minimum for felony theft. “Pick-pocketing” is always a felony in Colorado regardless of the value of the stolen goods. For example, if you reach into someone’s pocket and steal their wallet, it is a felony even if they didn’t notice you taking it.
Felony theft is then broken down into five different classes depending on the value of the stolen property. Punishment for a felony theft conviction includes prison time, fines, and the payment of victim restitution. Under Colorado law, prosecutors are allowed to charge a single count of theft for multiple thefts committed during a 6 month period. This allows the prosecutor to add up the total value of the thefts and charge the defendant under a more severe classification. The classifications of felony theft are listed below.
- Class 6 Felony Theft: Value of stolen property between $2,000 and $4,999.99, up to 1.5 years in prison, 1 year mandatory parole, up to $100,000 fine.
- Class 5 Felony Theft: Value of stolen property between $5,000 and $19,999.99, up to 3 years in prison, 2 years mandatory parole, up to $100,000 fine.
- Class 4 Felony Theft: Value of stolen property between $20,000 and $99,999.99, up to 6 years in prison, 3 years mandatory parole, up to $500,000 fine.
- Class 3 Felony Theft: Value of stolen property between $100,000 and $999,999.99, up to 12 years in prison, 5 years mandatory parole, up to $1,000,000 fine.
- Class 2 Felony Theft: Value of stolen property $1,000,000 or more, up to 24 years in prison, 5 years mandatory parole, up to $1,000,000 fine.
- Misdemeanor theft in Colorado is charged when a person intentionally steals the property of another where the value of the property is between $50 and $1,999.99. The penalties, like felony theft, are based on the value of the stolen goods. Misdemeanor theft penalties in Colorado are broken down into three classes: class 3, class 2, and class 1. The maximum sanction for misdemeanor theft is up to 18 months in jail, up to a $5,000 fine, and the payment of restitution to the victim.
- Petty theft in Colorado is charged when a person intentionally steals the property of another where the value is less than $50. The penalty for petty theft in Colorado is up to 6 months in jail, up to a $500 fine, and the payment of restitution to the victim.
call or text
Other Practice Areas
Beating Colorado Theft Crimes Charges
If you or someone you know has been accused, charged or convicted of theft in Colorado, contact Weber Law for a free consultation. Our attorneys are skillfully equipped to defend your case. Some possible defenses we may explore include:
-You did not intentionally take any property.
-You were the owner of the property.
-The police conducted an illegal search and seizure.
-We can challenge and dispute the value of the property alleged in the complaint.
-Upon conviction we can request a restitution hearing to dispute the value owed to the victim.
-We can appeal your conviction.
- CRS 18-4-401 Theft
- CRS 18-4-409 Aggravated motor vehicle theft
- CRS 18-4-412 Theft of medical records or medical information
- CRS 18-4-416 Theft by resale of a lift ticket or coupon
- CRS 18-4-701 Theft of cable service
- CRS 18-4-420 Chop shop activity
Weber Law Can Get Colorado Theft Crimes Charges Dropped or Reduced
If you’ve been arrested on theft crimes charges, the time to act is NOW. You need a seasoned attorney by your side. Weber Law has had thousands of charges reduced or dropped in Colorado. Weber Law tirelessly fights for every client and will navigate Colorado’s complex criminal justice system on your behalf.
Call Weber Law today. We’ll deliver the aggressive defense you deserve and fight to prevent you from having a theft crimes conviction that could ruin your life and rob you of your freedom.
If you’ve been arrested for a theft crime in Colorado, call Weber Law right now at 8014414010 for a free, confidential case evaluation.
A Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
1777 S Harrison St. Ste 450 Denver, CO 80210