Colorado Failure to Remain at Accident Lawyer
Facing Failure to Remain at the Scene of an Accident charges in Colorado? Time is NOT on your side.
If you are under investigation, if law enforcement wants to speak with you, or if you have been charged with a criminal offense, a competent, experienced criminal defense attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your charges. Call Weber Law to discuss your circumstances.
Having guidance through and an understanding of the criminal process will alleviate stress and allow you to focus your attention on improving your life.
Failure to Remain at the Scene of the Crime Defense
In Colorado, drivers of any vehicle have a specific duty to remain at an accident site. If a driver flees the scene of an accident, whether they are scared, have a flight response or were not sure what they should do, they can face serious penalties.
What is the Statute?
There are several statutes that cover fleeing the scene of an accident that vary in severity in Colorado including but not limited to:
Under C.R.S 42-4-1601(1),the driver of any vehicle directly involved in an accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close to the scene as possible or shall immediately return to the scene of the accident. The driver shall then remain at the scene of the accident until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of section 42-4-1603.
Under C.R.S 42-4-1602, the driver of any vehicle directly involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close thereto as possible but shall immediately return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of such accident.
If a driver collides with or is involved in an accident with any vehicle or other property which is unattended resulting in any damage to such vehicle or other property, under C.R.S 42-4-1604, a driver shall immediately stop and either locate and notify the operator or owner of such vehicle or property of such fact, the driver’s name and address, and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving or attach securely in a conspicuous place in or on such vehicle or other property a written notice giving the driver’s name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving. The driver shall also make report of such accident.
What is the Punishment?
If you are found guilty of failure to maintain at the scene of an accident, depending on the severity, your punishment could be harsh. Punishments for failure to maintain at the scene of an accident range from a a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense punishable by a ten days to one year imprisonment, between $300 and $1,000 in fines or both to a class 4 felony punishable by two to four years imprisonment plus one year of parole and fines between two thousand and five thousand dollars.
Additionally, upon conviction of failure to maintain at the scene of an accident, a driver’s license may be revoked or suspended.
How Can You Fight It?
If you have been cited for failing to maintain at the scene of an accident in Colorado, there are a few ways Weber Law can fight for you. Whether it is negotiating to lower the charge to a lesser crime, reducing your fine amount, reducing jail time, making sure your license does not get suspended or defending you at trial, Weber Law will work for you. By looking at potential evidence such as traffic cameras, officer reports, and potential eye witness testimony, Weber Law will make sure to look at all the details of your case. At Weber Law we are experienced in defending these types of charges, winning these types of cases, and getting you back on the road. If you or anyone you know has been cited for failing to maintain at the scene of an accident in the state of Colorado, call Weber Law today for a consultation.
- C.R.S. 42-4-1601, Accidents involving death or personal injuries-duties
- C.R.S. 18-1.3-401. Felonies classified- presumptive penalties
- C.R.S. 42-4-1602. Accident involving damage-duty
- C.R.S. 42-4-1604, Duty upon striking unattended vehicle or other property
- C.R.S. 42-4-1701, Traffic offenses and infractions classified – penalties- penalty and surcharge schedule
Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been cited with a failure to remain at the scene of an accident charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation. Serving Denver and the surrounding areas.
call or text
Other Practice Areas
Our Failure to Remain at the Scene of an Accident Defense Lawyers Are Here to Help
If you have been charged with a crime, do not hesitate to ask for legal help. At Weber Law Firm, we understand you’re scared and nervous about what is coming next. You may even be angry that you have been falsely accused of a crime you didn’t commit. We are here to fight for an acquittal.
To learn more about how we can help, contact Weber Law Firm online or call us at 8014414010 today.
A Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
1777 S Harrison St. Ste 450 Denver, CO 80210