California Vehicular Manslaughter Attorney
Have You Been Charged With Vehicular Manslaughter? Do Not Face This Charge Alone! Let WEBER LAW Help You Today!
Vehicular manslaughter is one of the most serious crimes you can be charged with, not only in California, but around the world. However, there are different aspects to the crime. Specifically, in California, being found guilty of vehicular manslaughter can come with a hefty fine, and a lengthy imprisonment. There are different aspects to the crime of vehicular manslaughter, all of which come with serious penalties. A charge of vehicular manslaughter can have detrimental effects on your record, which can follow you for life. Do not face these charges alone; do not face the court room alone. Let Weber Law help you today!
call or text now!
California Vehicular Manslaughter Charges and Penalties
What is Vehicular Manslaughter?
In California, vehicular manslaughter is driving a vehicle in the commission of an unlawful or lawful act, with gross negligence; or driving a vehicle in the commission of a lawful act which might produce death or serious injury, in an unlawful manner, and with gross negligence.
Examples of vehicular manslaughter include running a stop sign in your car and striking a pedestrian, causing them to die; turning into a bicyclist with your car because you did not see them; changing the radio station and hitting another car, killing the driver or their passengers; and texting on your cellphone, distracting you from a car that has stopped at a red light, and slamming into the back of the car, causing the death of the driver you hit.
Gross negligence is more than carelessness or inattentiveness; gross negligence involves things such as deliberately speeding in excess, texting while driving, messing with the radio, eating something that takes your attention from the road, swerving into the opposite lane deliberately, or deliberately not stopping at a stop sign.
Vehicular manslaughter for financial gain or insurance fraud is when you purposefully cause an accident in hopes of submitting an insurance claim, and that accident causes death.
What is the Punishment?
The punishment for vehicular manslaughter ranges depending on the intent of the crime. It ranges from misdemeanor or felony. Vehicular manslaughter as a misdemeanor charge includes imprisonment for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000.00, or both.
Vehicular manslaughter as a felony charge includes imprisonment from 2 to 6 years, a fine of up to $10,000.00, or both.
If the vehicular manslaughter is committed for the purpose of financial gain/insurance fraud, it is a felony with a penalty of imprisonment for between 4 and 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000.00, or both.
Even as a Defendant, you still have Rights! Make sure yours were not violated!
Even as an individual facing criminal charges, you have rights, and it is important to know those rights and make sure that they were not violated in any way when you were arrested or charged. Without extensive knowledge of your rights when it comes to police searches, Miranda rights, and your rights when it comes to arrest, it is extremely difficult to get a dismissal or reduction. Do not try and fight these charges on your own; Weber Law is ready to help you today.
Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been arrested on a vehicular manslaughter charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation – serving Los Angeles and the surrounding areas.
What Should You Do If You Have Been Charged With Vehicular Manslaughter And How Can WEBER LAW Help You?
It can be scary and nerve wracking to have criminal charges on your record, but it has an added severity when a decade in prison and hefty fines are the potential punishments. The court system can be intimidating, and without good legal help, the consequences of your charges can be devastating. Our experienced team is comfortable looking at evidence, negotiating potential plea agreements, and defending you in court. There are ways to fight the charge of vehicular manslaughter. Additionally, Weber Law will look at all the evidence available to the different aspects you could have been charged with, including but not limited to, speaking to potential witnesses, looking at the crime scene, and the victim’s side of the accident. Weber Law will work to lower your charge or sentence. We will fight for you to keep your record clean. Vehicular manslaughter, no matter the circumstances, is not a charge that you want to fight alone; let our team of experienced attorneys help you navigate the criminal justice system. If you or someone you know has been charged with vehicular manslaughter in the state of California, contact Weber Law for a consultation today.
CA Penal Code § 192, Manslaughter; voluntary; involuntary, and vehicular
CA Penal Code § 17, Felony; misdemeanor; infraction; classification of offenses
A Los Angeles, California Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
80 South Lake Ave. Ste. 590, Pasadena, California 91101