California Statutory Rape Lawyer
Have you been charged with Statutory Rape? Let Weber Law help you today!
Statutory rape is one of the most serious crimes you can be charged with, not only in California, but around the world. Specifically, in California, being found guilty of statutory rape can come a lengthy imprisonment and a stigma that will follow you for life. There are different aspects to the crime of statutory rape, all of which come with serious penalties. Do not face these charges alone; do not face the court room alone. Let Weber Law help you today!
California Statutory Rape Charges and Penalties
What is Statutory Rape?
In California statutory rape is unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor. A minor is a person under the age of 18 years and an adult is a person who is at least 18 years of age. Unlawful sexual intercourse is an act of sexual intercourse accomplished with a person who is not the spouse of the perpetrator if the person is a minor. Whether you have consent or not from the minor does not matter in this case. However, age does play a huge factor in the punishment and outcome for unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor.
What is the Punishment?
• An adult who is guilty of statutory rape who is not more than three years older or three years younger than the minor is guilty of a misdemeanor with a lesser sentence.
• An adult who is guilty of statutory rape of a minor who is more than three years younger than the minor is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and punishment could be imprisonment for up to one year.
• Any person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is 16 years of age is guilty of a misdemeanor or a felony and shall be imprisoned for one year or two to four years.
Additionally, fines ranging from $2,000.00 to $25,000.00 can be issued.
There are cushions in the statute for age, such as a 19-year-old person dating a 17-year-old person.
There may be instances where you would have to register as a sex offender, depending on the discretion of a judge.
The length of registration ranges from ten years to life.
What is the Sex Offender Registration Act?
Every person who has been convicted in any court in California, or in any federal, or military court of various acts outlined above must register to the chief of police in which the person is residing, or the sheriff of the county if the person is residing in an unincorporated area or city that has no police department, and, additionally, with the chief of police of a campus of the University of California, the California State University, or community college if the person is residing upon the campus or in any of its facilities, within five working days of coming into, or changing the person’s residence within, any city, county, or city and county, or campus in which the person temporarily resides.
As you can see, the statute can get incredibly complicated, it is important to have a good attorney who can explain all aspects of the law to you and who has a strong knowledge of the law.
Even as a Defendant, you still have Rights! Make sure yours were not violated!
Even as an individual facing criminal charges, you have rights, and it is important to know those rights and make sure that they were not violated in any way when you were arrested or charged. Without extensive knowledge of your rights when it comes to police searches, Miranda rights, and your rights when it comes to arrest, it is extremely difficult to get a dismissal or reduction. Do not try to fight these charges on your own—Weber Law is ready to help you today.
Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been arrested on a statutory rape charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation – serving Los Angeles and the surrounding areas.
How Can WEBER LAW Help You?
It can be scary and nerve wracking to have criminal charges on your record, but it has an added severity when a decade in prison, an extremely large fine, and the stigma of being a convicted rapist is the outcome. The court system can be intimidating, and without good legal help, the consequences can be devastating. Our experienced team is comfortable looking at evidence, negotiating potential plea agreements, and defending you in court. There are ways to fight the allegation of statutory rape. Weber Law will look at all the evidence available to the different aspects you could have been charged with, including but not limited to, speaking to potential witnesses, the circumstances surrounding the allegation, has the minor made allegations before, and even your criminal record. Weber Law will work to lower your charge or sentence. We will fight for you to keep your record clean. Statutory rape, no matter the circumstances, is not a charge that you want to fight alone; let our team of experienced attorneys help you navigate the criminal justice system. If you or someone you know has been charged with statutory rape in the state of California, contact Weber Law for your free consultation today.
CA Penal Code § 261.5, Unlawful sexual intercourse with a person under 18; age of perpetrator; civil penalties
A Los Angeles, California Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
80 South Lake Ave. Ste. 590, Pasadena, California 91101