California Failure to Register as Sex Offender Attorney
Have you been charged with Failing to Register as a Sex Offender? Do not face this charge alone! Let Weber Law help you today!
Being convicted of a crime can have detrimental effects on your life, but after you finish your sentence and pay your fines your punishment is complete, right? Not necessarily. In California you can be ordered to register as a sex offender for being convicted of certain crimes. If you fail to register as a sex offender when it is ordered, then you could be facing more jail time and more fines. Do not face this charge alone, let Weber Law help you today!
call or text now!
California Failing to Register as a Sex Offender Charges and Penalties
Who has to Register as a Sex Offender?
There are many crimes and parameters that require a person to register as a sex offender when convicted in any court in California, or in any federal or military court which include but are not limited to:
• An act of murder committed in the perpetration, or an attempt to perpetrate, rape;
• Forcible acts of sexual penetration;
• Any offense involving lewd or lascivious conduct that contributes to the delinquency of a person under 18 years old;
• Oral copulation; or
• Felony violation of harmful matter sent to a minor;
As there are so many instances where you might have to register as a sex offender, it can be confusing to know for sure. Having knowledgeable legal counsel can help you navigate the criminal justice system. The crime you are convicted of also regulates how long you must register for. The length of registration ranges from ten years to life.
What is the Sex Offender Registration Act?
Every person who has been convicted in any court in California, or in any federal, or military court of various acts outlined above must register to the chief of police in which the person is residing, or the sheriff of the county if the person is residing in an unincorporated area or city that has no police department, and, additionally, with the chief of police of a campus of the University of California, the California State University, or community college if the person is residing upon the campus or in any of its facilities, within five working days of coming into, or changing the person’s residence within, any city, county, or city and county, or campus in which the person temporarily resides.
What is the Punishment for Failing to Register?
Failing to register as a sex offender is a misdemeanor if the person who is required to register was convicted on a misdemeanor offense. It is punishable by up to a year imprisonment.
Failing to register as a sex offender is a felony if the person who is required to register was convicted on a felony offense. It is punishable by imprisonment of 16 months to 3 years.
Sentences can potentially be reduced, but it requires legal counsel that is confident in the court room, knowledgeable about the law, and passionate about defending you.
Even as a Defendant, you still have Rights! Make sure yours were not violated!
Even as an individual facing criminal charges, you have rights, and it is important to know those rights and make sure that they were not violated in any way when you were arrested or charged. Without extensive knowledge of your rights when it comes to police searches, Miranda rights, and your rights when it comes to arrest, it is extremely difficult to get a dismissal or reduction. Do not try to fight these charges on your own—Weber Law is ready to help you today.
Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been arrested on a failing to register as a sex offender charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation – serving Los Angeles and the surrounding areas.
What should you do if you have been charged with Failing to Register as a Sex Offender and how can Weber Law help you?
It can be scary and nerve wracking to have criminal charges on your record, but it has an added severity when you have to register as a sex offender and fail to. The court system can be intimidating, and without good legal help, the consequences can last years. Our experienced team is comfortable looking at evidence, negotiating potential plea agreements, and defending you in court. There are ways to fight the allegation of failing to register as a sex offender, such as not realizing you were required to register, not knowing where to register, and thinking you had registered when you had not. Weber Law will look at all the evidence available to keep you from facing more jail time. Weber Law will work to lower your charge or sentence. Failing to register as a sex offender, no matter the circumstances, is not a charge that you want to fight alone; let our team of experienced attorneys help you navigate the criminal justice system. If you or someone you know has been charged with failing to register as a sex offender in the state of California, contact Weber Law for your free consultation today.
CA Penal Code § 290, Sex Offender Registration Act; lifetime duty to register within specified number of days following entrance into or moving within a jurisdiction; offenses requiring mandatory registration.
CA Penal Code § 230.018, Penalties for violation
A Los Angeles, California Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You
Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!
We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.
80 South Lake Ave. Ste. 590, Pasadena, California 91101