CALIFORNIA failing to remain at the scene of an accident DEFENSE LAWYER

Have you been charged with Failing to Remain at the Scene of an Accident? Time is Not on your side! Contact us today!

In California, drivers of any vehicle have a specific duty to remain at an accident site. If a driver flees the scene of an accident, whether they are scared, have a flight response, or were not sure what they should do, they can face serious penalties. Do not face these charges alone, let Weber Law help you today!

California Failing to Remain at the Scene of an Accident Charges and Penalties

What is the Statute?

The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to a person, other than himself or herself, or in the death of a person, shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident and shall give his or her name, current residence address, the names and current residence addresses of any occupant of the driver’s vehicle injured in the accident, the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving, and the name and current residence address of the owner to the person struck or the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, and shall give the information to any traffic or police officer at the scene of the accident.

The driver of the vehicle should also give reasonable assistance to the injured person which includes transporting or making arrangements for transporting any injured person to a physician, or hospital for medical care. Any driver or injured occupant of a driver’s vehicle may also exhibit their driver’s license if it is requested to the person the vehicle collided with or the police officer.

If the accident results in a death of a person, the driver of any vehicle involved after administering reasonable care should report the accident to the nearest Highway Patrol or policy authority available.

What is the Punishment?

The punishment for failing to remain at the scene of an accident depends on the severity of the accident.

If the accident results in death or permanent, serious injury, the person who fled the scene could be punished by imprisonment for 90 days to a year, a fine of $1,000.00 to $10,000.00, or by both.

Permanent or serious injury is described as the permanent impairment of function of a bodily member or organ.

Even as a Defendant, you still have Rights! Make sure yours were not violated!

Even as an individual facing criminal charges, you have rights, and it is important to know those rights and make sure that they were not violated in any way when you were arrested or charged.  Without extensive knowledge of your rights when it comes to police searches, Miranda rights, and your rights when it comes to arrest, it is extremely difficult to get a dismissal or reduction.  Do not try to fight these charges on your own—Weber Law is ready to help you today.

Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been arrested on a failing to remain at the scene of an accident charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation – serving Los Angeles and the surrounding areas.

"He did everything he could to solve my case. There was no moment where I felt like I was alone. He went to his full extent to help me lower my charges. Great lawyer.”

ROGER | WEBER LAW CLIENT
Weber Law criminal defense attorney awards

What should you do if you have been charged with Failing to Remain at the Scene of an Accident and how can Weber Law help?

If you have been cited for failing to maintain at the scene of an accident in California, there are a few ways Weber Law can fight for you. Whether it is negotiating to lower the charge to a lesser crime, reducing your fine amount, reducing jail time, making sure your license does not get suspended or defending you at trial, Weber Law will work for you. By looking at potential evidence such as traffic cameras, officer reports, and potential eyewitness testimony, Weber Law will make sure to look at all the details of your case. At Weber Law we are experienced in defending these charges, winning these cases, and getting you back on the road. If you or anyone you know has been cited for failing to maintain at the scene of an accident in the state of California, call Weber Law today for a consultation. 

CA Vehicle § 20001, Duty to stop at scene of injury accident; penalties.
CA Vehicle § 20003, Duty upon injury or death
CA Vehicle § 20004, Duty upon death

A Los Angeles, California Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You

Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!

We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.

Office Address:

80 South Lake Ave. Ste. 590, Pasadena, California 91101

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top